top of page

James Stark Rise: Part One

So this is a little late getting out. We been working on editing James Stark Rise. I have finished chapter 1.

Part One:

James Stark is briefed above the planet Rise prepares to enter into the war on Rise.

No large changes made to the chapter. The beginning was altered a bit, but most the chapter stayed the same. Will have more chapters done soon.

Sample:

The Walk

The deserts of Rise, they are hot, they are dusty, and they the endless. My boot comes down creating a cloud of red sand. I look up at the sun. The red sun beat down on me as I held my hand up. I signaled the man in the tower. The gate in front of me swung out.

As the doors opened a man in a navy blue military suit stood at the entrance. I stepped forward and stopped as I was about to pass him.

He stepped forward. His voice cracked as it spoke. “You don’t have to do this alone James.”

I turned and looked at him. The bars on his shoulders indicated he was a general. He looked into his green eyes. “No I do,” I said. “Win or lose, this will end the war.”

I paused for a moment and reached down to my belt. I grabbed my knife and pulled it off my belt, my holster holding my revolver was next. I held the two objects up in front of the general. “Keep these for me.”

“This won't change anything,” the general said.

“It will for me,” I said. I started to walk into the desert plain. The gust of wind blew the sand across me as I walked. I heard the turning of gears behind me as the door closed.

I walked for a long few minutes closing my eyes part of the way. I felt the wind on my face as it moved across. Rise, the graveyard of empires, it was hot, dry, but I did find beauty in its sands. I opened my eyes when I walked through the entrance to a large valley.

I stepped forward and stopped suddenly as a long black arrow fired into the ground just inches from my feet. I looked up and saw a large man standing at the top of the valley. He looked down at me, His head, and body, covered in an amber colored armor. His bow extended at least two yards. I had tried to pull one of the strings before and found it impossible. He pulled his bow string back using his massive arms. I held my hand up and stared the man down.

I started to hear would could only be described as loud clicks and growls being yelled in front of me. I turned my head, in front of me was a wall of metal and spears all pointed at me. The soldiers pushed forward as continued to hold my hands up. The clicks continued over the sound of moving metal. The wall of shields and spears parted.

A figure knelt behind it. His body covered in a red cloak. His body armored from head to toe. He reached out and grabbed hold of a large silver hammer before standing. He moved slowly towards me. He stood several feet taller than me. His body was much larger than any of the others soldiers surrounding me, his armor was also much thicker.

He stood in front of me. “What you want?” he growled.

I looked up at him. His helmet kept his face in shadow. “I come for the rite of challenge,” I said loudly.

Check out the rest here:

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page